You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser.
[h=2]Printing
[h=3]Introduction
There are many choices you can make when printing an Excel workbook. You can choose what parts of a workbook
to print and how the data fits on the page.
In this lesson, you will learn how to print worksheets, workbooks, and selections of cells. You will also learn how to
prepare for printing by modifying page orientation, scale, margins, Print Titles, and page breaks.
[h=2]Printing
[h=3]Printing
In previous versions of Excel, there was a Print Preview option that allowed you to preview and
modify the workbook before printing. You may have noticed that this feature seems to be gone in
Excel 2010. It actually has not disappeared; it has just been combined with the Print window to
create the Print pane, which is located in Backstage view.
[h=2]Printing
[h=4]To View the Print Pane:
Click the File tab. This takes you to Backstage view.
Select Print. The Print pane appears, with the print settings on the left and the Print Preview on the right.
[h=2]Printing
[h=3]Print Button
Click the Print button when you are ready to print.
[h=2]Printing
[h=3]Printer
You may need to select the printer you want to use if your computer is connected to multiple printers.
[h=2]Printing
[h=3]Print Range
Choose whether to print the active sheets, entire workbook, or a selection of cells.
[h=2]Printing
[h=3]One Side/Both Sides
Choose whether to print on one side or both sides of the paper.
[h=2]Printing
[h=3]Collated/Uncollated
If you are printing multiple copies, choose whether you want the copies collated or uncollated.
[h=2]Printing
[h=3]Orientation
Here you can choose Portrait or Landscape orientation.
[h=2]Printing
[h=3]Paper Size
Choose the paper size that you want your printer to use.
[h=2]Printing
[h=3]Margins
You can adjust the margins here. This is useful if parts of your worksheets are being cut off by the printer.
[h=2]Printing
[h=3]Scaling
Choose how to scale your worksheets for the printed page. You can scale worksheets at their
actual size, to fit all on one page, to fit all the columns on one page, or to fit all the rows on one page.
[h=2]Printing
[h=3]Print Preview
This allows you to see how your worksheets will look when printed.
[h=2]Printing
[h=3]Page
Click the arrows to view a different page in the Print Preview area.
[h=2]Printing
[h=3]Show Margins/Zoom to Page
The Zoom to Page button is on the right. Click on it to zoom in and out in the Preview pane.
The Show Margins button is to the left of the Zoom to Page button. Click on it to adjust the margins of your workbook.
[h=2]Printing
[h=4]To Print Active Sheets:
If you have multiple worksheets in your workbook, you will need to decide if you want to print the
whole workbook or specific worksheets. Excel gives you the option to Print Active Sheets. A
worksheet is considered active if it is selected.
Select the worksheets you want to print. To print multiple worksheets, click on
the first worksheet, hold down the Ctrl key, then click on the other worksheets you want to select.
Click the File tab.
Select Print to access the Print pane.
Select Print Active Sheets from the print range drop-down menu.
Click the Print button.
[h=2]Printing
[h=4]To Print the Entire Workbook:
Click the File tab.
Select Print to access the Print pane.
Select Print Entire Workbook from the print range drop-down menu.
Click the Print button.
[h=2]Printing
[h=4]To Print a Selection, or Set the Print Area:
Printing a selection (sometimes called setting the print area) lets you choose
which cells to print, as opposed to the entire worksheet.
Select the cells that you want to print.
Click the File tab.
Select Print to access the Print pane.
Select Print Selection from the print range drop-down menu.
You can see what your selection will look like on the page in Print Preview.
Click the Print button.
You don't have to wait until you're ready to print to set the print area. You can also set it
from the Page Layout tab in advance. This will place a dotted line around your selection, so you can
see which cells are going to print while you work. To do this, just select the cells you want to print, go
to the Page Layout tab, and choose Print Area.
[h=2]Printing
[h=4]To Change Page Orientation:
Change the page orientation to Portrait to orient the page vertically or Landscape to orient
the page horizontally. Portrait is useful for worksheets needing to fit more rows on one page, and
Landscape is useful for worksheets needing to fit more columns on one page.
Click the File tab.
Select Print to access the Print pane.
Select either Portrait Orientation or Landscape Orientation from the orientation drop-down menu.
Your page orientation is changed.
[h=2]Printing
[h=4]To Fit a Worksheet on One Page:
Click the File tab.
Select Print to access the Print pane.
Select Fit Sheet on One Page from the scaling drop-down menu.
Your worksheet is reduced in size until it fits on one page. Remember that if it is scaled too small it might be difficult to read.